2008 was so awesome!! (?)

Hi All. I am going to get back to my resume tips Monday, but wanted to add a quick commentary about the new year.

Let’s face it, I don’t know anyone who would put 2008 down as a “great year”, but if you throw it in the trash and say “I don’t ever want to think about 2008 again!,” you are doing yourself a great disservice.

We need to learn lessons from 2008 to make things better in 2009 and beyond. The first thing I do is take stock in the great things I had and still have. I have a wonderful wife and 2 fantastic sons, an awesome dog who is essentially my third son and we all got through 2008 healthy and intact.

Next, from a professional perspective, 08 wasn’t so great. I lost my full time job. I managed to suppress my instinct to panic or wallow in self-pity. Instead, I chose to assess what is important for me career-wise and dedicate 09 to moving in that direction.  I realized that I could be successful and grow professionally by working for myself. I have an extensive network of professional contacts, many of whom I call friends and I am re-connecting with them to find ways to help each other.

I have always found that if you spend more time giving help or your time to folks who need it, it will pay itself back exponentially. Not always in dollars, but in ways much more important than money. If you make that your basis for living your life, the money will come.

So what was my lesson learned from 2008? A good paying corporate job is nice. It paid the bills and then some. It gave me more affordable health care. It gave me a community of people to work with and friendships. When it was gone, I still retained the relationships, I built a network that afforded me new opportunities, and I realized I can be successful without having to work for someone else (although I am open to full time positions :-).

So review 08. Document the successes and failures and use those things to decide what direction you want to take your career in. As for 2009, we don’t know what’s going to happen. We will have a new leader with different ideas. Whether you voted for him or not, we all need to put politics aside and hope that he is successful at turning things around because that’s the only thing that will benefit everyone. We all have to be of the same mind and know Everything’s going to be OK. Say it with me people: Everything’s going to be OK. A little louder please…Everything’s going to be OK.

Alright, thanks. And Happy New Year!!!!

Leave a Reply

